Carver Hill: A New Favorite

4 Oct

This past weekend I planned to head out to Stow, MA to visit Honey Pot Hill Orchards. I’ve heard a lot about this place, some good, some bad, but before my visit another friend recommended Carver Hill Orchard, which I was told has a more low-key vibe. Ultimately I decided to check out Carver Hill and was glad I did.

It was definitely not an ideal day to go apple picking, humid and misty rain throughout the day, but in the end it didn’t matter and I ended up discovering one of my favorite orchards.


Carver Hill had some of the best fall offerings out there. Not only did they sell Apple Cider donuts, you could watch them making the donuts. They smelled so good!



In addition to donuts, the snack bar had the typical orchard fare, but they also had apple crisp ice cream. APPLE CRISP ICE CREAM!

After picking some huge and crisp Macoun apples, I headed into the farm store, which was full of country crafts.


Outside the store, I ran into a festival of Morris dancers, which I didn’t know until then is a form of British folk dancing. Sort of weird, but interesting nonetheless.

 

When leaving Carver Hill, I saw signs for Honey Pot Hill Orchards (which I discovered is literally down the street) but I had no regrets. I was glad I ventured outside of my plan and discovered this great little orchard. It was the perfect trip and their apples made great Apple Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies.

3 Responses to “Carver Hill: A New Favorite”

  1. Robin October 13, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Went to Honey Pot Hill on Friday — it was terrific. Many varieties of apples to pick + pears. Great (funny driver & bumpy ride) hay/tractor ride (only $1 after you’ve bought your bag for picking; the 4 of us paid for the big bag at $23 and it was well worth the investment), awesome cider donuts, and a cool hedgemaze. You should definitely put it on your list!

    • applelogs October 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Cool. I need to check that place out.

      • R September 19, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

        dear applelogs,

        please check that place out soon and post something new. i’m jonesing.

        your devoted fan,
        sandwicharchitecture

Leave a Reply

