Apple Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

1 Oct

This recipe (that I got from Dragon’s Kitchen and veganized it) is dedicated to all my friends who have October birthdays, which is basically everyone I know. Happy Birthtober!

I love oatmeal cookies, but they’re often made with raisins. I’m pretty particular about raisins. A dear friend actually coined the expression, “ruin it with raisins.” Needless to say there’s nothing I hate more than raisins in my carrot cake, cookies, or even worse, Thanksgiving stuffing. Bleh.

Anyway, I basically substitute dried cranberries for raisins whenever possible. This recipe is awesome, and I now have to figure out how to get them out of my house because they’re so good.

Ingredients

  • 3 cup quick oats, uncooked
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (vegan: Earth Balance)
  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar – firmly packed
  • 1 egg (vegan replacement: 1/4 cup of apple sauce )
  • 1/3 soy milk
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries
  • 1 cup apple, peeled, cored and chopped finely (Variety: Macoun)

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Combine oats, flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large mixer bowl, combine butter, sugar, egg, milk, honey and vanilla. Beat at medium speed until well combined.

Mix dry ingredients into creamed mixture and mix at low speed just until blended.

Finely chop apples. Macouns have dark red skin overlaying green, with snow-white flesh. They’re honey-sweet, juicy and tender.



Stir in cranberries and apples.


Drop rounded tablespoonfuls of the dough about 3 inches apart onto prepared baking sheet.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, or until lightly browned. Transfer to a cooling rack and serve.


Kelly liked them. I think we ate a dozen cookies between the both of us.


Nemi was totally no help in the kitchen.

3 Responses to “Apple Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Rena October 1, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Ok this getting new posts to my email thing really does make me look like a stalker. I swear I don’t hang out on your blog all day waiting for you to post.

    My comments:
    — I love raisins, but I love cranberries too.
    — Gonna have to try these.
    — Raquel (aka Cap’n Grahhhhmski) is going to kill you if you don’t take the apostrophe out of Macoun’s.

    • applelogs October 1, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      I love you. I am actually in the middle of proofing this post so thank you for the grammar check! 🙂
      I am sitting with Kelly and Dink right now (they say hi) and we just ate way too many cookies. Yum and hurl.

  2. Erin October 15, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I love the picture of the apple in the foreground and basket of every candy you could imagine in the background. I am going to make these for my students.

Leave a Reply

