Apple Oatmeal Muffins

19 Sep

This is a simple recipe that will make your house smell incredible.


Today I picked Cortland apples from Brookfield Orchards in central Massachusetts. [Read my review of Brookfield.]

Their Cortlands are enormous this year!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/2 cups soy milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce (Martha Stewart has a simple homemade recipe or you can use store-bought)
  • 3 apples, diced (Variety: Cortland)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease muffin pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, oats, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda.

Add the oil, soy milk and applesauce, mix well. Stir in the diced Cortland apples and pecans.

Cortland is a good all-purpose apple. It’s great for baking, but since their white flesh is more resistant to browning compared to other varieties, they are especially good in sweet or savory salads. Cortlands have red and green-striped skin, are crisp and sweet, with a hint of tartness.

Once all the ingredients have been combined, fill the muffin cups 2/3 full with batter.

Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool and serve.

4 Responses to “Apple Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. Rena September 23, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I made these this morning before work and brought them in! My coworkers thank you. For the record, I made big ones and little ones, because I only have one pan for each and I didn’t have time to bake them consecutively. The larger ones were better while still warm, but the little ones were amazing once they were completely cooled. I didn’t use the scientific method or anything… in truth, only the little ones were left to try at that point. The big ones made it to the office still warm and didn’t last long enough to try fully cooled.

    I used McIntosh ’cause that’s what I had. Into the tartness! And thanks for the inspiration, I hadn’t eaten an apple as is yet this season. I know, it’s crazy. I’m always dehydrating them and stuff, but it was so good fresh.

    In other news (literally), I saw this today and thought of you:

    http://canton.patch.com/articles/massachusetts-celebrates-september-as-apple-month

    Happy Apple Month!

  2. applelogs September 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    I’m so excited that you baked the muffins and they were enjoyable. I wondered about the larger muffin tin. I actually didn’t expect my tin to yield such little muffins, but in the end it worked out.

    I also checked out the article you sent and there is a link to the New England Apple Association. They have a lot of great info…and recipes! Maybe I’ll make one of theirs!!

    Thanks!

  3. Rena October 1, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I love these! I made them again last night with enormous, super crisp NY Golden Delicious (I love these when they’re local and almost light green skinned). I missed the tartness a little, but that’s what I had, and they were still awesome. My taijutsu class ate the entirety of the big bag that I brought to the park this morning (and I directed someone here for the recipe). Now that I’ve had the big ones that had a chance to cool, I have to say that my original thoughts were correct: the full sized muffins are better when they’re still warm from the oven, but the little ones are better after they’ve cooled. I think the surface to insides ratio works a little better as far as holding their structure – the bigger ones get a little softer. Also, the mini ones end up with a little hint of caramelized brown sugar or something. Yum.

    I went to the store on the way home from class to see if they had any pomelo (sadly, no)… I came home with Cortlands, a Jonagold that’s almost as large as my head, and a few local Red Delicious (again, I’m totally “meh” about these when they’re from the grocery store, but when they’re local it’s a totally different story). I think I’m going to try the muffins again with the Cortlands, dehydrate at least one of each of the others (still have Golden Delicious too), and snack on these at my desk all next week. You’ve created a monster. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sharks and Apples | Postal Salute - May 3, 2012

    […] loves sharks. When I see sharks, I think of her. She is also the source of my go-to apple muffin recipe. So good!! Office and dojo […]

Leave a Reply

