Apple Pizza

2 Sep

My visit to Bolton Orchards led to a delicious apple pizza pie.


I need to credit my old roommate, Adrianna, for this recipe. It was either her aunt or mom’s recipe, but basically she made it once and I have made it practically every year since. Essentially it’s an apple pie without a load of apples, almost like a danish. Some would say it accentuates the best part of a pie because apple pizza is mostly crust, juice from the apples and spices. Yum.

Ingredients:
1 loaf of bread/pizza dough (All Recipes has a simple recipe for making your own dough or you can use store-bought)
2/3 cup of granulated sugar
1/2 cup flour
4 baking apples (Variety: Paula Red)
1/4 cup walnuts or pecans (optional)
1/4 cup butter (I used Earth Balance vegan butter)
2 tsp. cinnamon

Glaze:
1 cup confectioner sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract)
1 tblsp milk (I used water)

After letting dough rise for 30 minutes, spread dough over greased-cookie sheet/pizza pan.
[If you count all the apples in this photo (Highlights Magazine-style) it would be absurd.]



For apples, I selected Paula Red for the Apple Pizza. Paula Reds are harvested early in the apple-picking season, primarily the end of August into September (depending on the season). They are a medium-sized, characterized by red skin with shades of yellow and green. A good all-purpose variety, Paula Reds are very crisp, sweetly tart and juicy, and are great for cooking, baking and eating.


For Apple Pizza, thinly slice the apples and arrange over dough in a circular fashion.



Mix sugar, flour, butter and cinnamon, and sprinkle over apples. [As an aside, I am obsessed with my new milk bottle measuring cups.]




Bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool for 15 minutes.

Combine confectioner sugar, vanilla and water, and drizzle over pizza. Slice with a pizza cutter and serve.


Erin and Dink, my Sous Chefs, enjoy the pizza!



13 Responses to “Apple Pizza”

  1. frugalfeeding September 2, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    It sounds awesome! Great idea, it would work so well.

    • applelogs September 2, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

      Thanks! I’m actually starting (the actual orchard reviews and baking) tomorrow, but was setting everything up and testing. 🙂

  2. Ethan D September 4, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    Looks amazing! Did you do Earth Balance butter?

    • applelogs September 4, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      I did. Unfortunately the remaining recipes I mapped out for the blog aren’t vegan. I’ll need to look into getting and egg replacer.

      • Tracy Plaud Catarius September 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

        For each egg, try one tablespoon ground flax seeds mixed with 3 tablespoons warm water, let sit for a couple minutes.

      • applelogs September 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

        Thanks, Tracy. I’m using vinegar and baking soda for the cake I just baked, but I’m going to try this next time. 🙂

    • applelogs September 4, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      I actually might use apple cider vinegar and baking soda like I used in the biscuits.

  3. dink September 4, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    I’m glad I could have been apart of this. 1. I take some terrible photos and 2. you didn’t use my favorite one! either way, the pizza was so delicious so thank you! thank you! thank you!

  4. Andrea Tempesta September 5, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Love it. Can’t wait to try this.

  5. Erin September 23, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I made this tonight, Liz! I am bringing it to school tomorrow to feed my homeroom kids.

  6. Rosemary September 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I’m going to attempt this to go with Allison’s pizza birthday party for Sunday!

    • applelogs September 29, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      Oooh. That’s very exciting! 🙂 I’m excited for the craft fair.

Leave a Reply

